>
Dominican Monastery

Surrounded by the city walls

Dominican Monastery

The Dominican Monastery acquired its present day form in the 14th century perfectly fitting into the city walls as a part of the defence complex. Due to the extremely sensitive strategic location which the Dominicans had chosen for their home, the construction of the monastery complex - that commenced in 1228 - was unreservedly supported by the Dubrovnik authorities. Various elements of the Romanesque, Baroque, Gothic and Renaissance styles combine here in perfect harmony. St Dominics Church is one of the most representative Gothic buildings on the East Adriatic.

The monastery complex received its final form in the 15th century, when it was completed with a sacristy, capitulary hall and cloister. The outstandingly beautiful cloister was constructed by local builders such as Utišenović, Grubačević and Radmanović, after the design of the Florentine master Masso di Bartolomeo.

The luxuriously ornamented atrium is an ideal natural stage for poetry recitals, which the residents and guests of Dubrovnik could experience while listening to Michael York who recited Shakespeares verses leaning on the stone crown of the monastery water-well.

The famous Dubrovnik builder Paskoje Miličević took part in the construction of the monastery sacristy. In token of gratitude, his name was carved on the wall of the church, in which he was later buried along with other meritorious residents of Dubrovnik.

The Dominican Monastery houses the highly valued works belonging to the Dubrovnik 15th and 16th century school of painting, including the poliptych by Lovro Dobričević, the triptych by Mihajlo Hamzić, the works by Nikola Božidarević, the 20th century altar piece The Miracle of St Dominic by the great painter of Cavtat Vlaho Bukovac, and the paintings by the contemporary Dubrovnik painter Ivo Dulčić. The breathtaking works by foreign masters include the large 14th century Crucifix by Paolo Veneziano and the altar piece St Mary Magdalene painted by Titian and his assistants in 1550.

This astonishing architectural and artistic complex - the entire beauty of which can be seen from the city walls - also includes a rich library with more than 220 highly valued incunabula and finely ornamented manuscripts and documents.

   
Info TIC
  Pile Brsalje 5
T 020 / 312-011 E-Mail
Working hours:
Mon - Sun: 8 am – 10 pm


Gruž Obala I. Pavla II, 1
T 020 / 417-983 E-Mail
Working hours:
Mon - Sun: 8 am - 9 pm



More

Hello dear Visitor!

Tell us what you think about your stay in Dubrovnik!

Take the poll
Knez1